Recipe: Turkey Meatloaf “Cupcakes” with Mashed Potato “Frosting”

As the holiday break came to a close, I found myself wanting to hang on to some of the comforts of being holed up in the house, sacked out on the coach in my sweatpants for long periods of time, with little to plan or worry about. I wanted comfort, and on Monday night that came in the form of food.

These guys came about really by accident. The original meatloaf (side note: I despise that word) recipe called for them in mini loaf pans, but, since I didn’t have any of those on hand, I decided to go with my XL muffin tin. What the hey, I was feeling creative.

Along with the meatloaf I made mashed potatoes, and while the potatoes were cooking I thought it would be cute to make these into cupcakes!

Unfortunately Boyfriend quickly put the kibosh on my excitement by bluntly telling me he did NOT want mashed potatoes ON TOP OF his meatcake (better? No.), but they were a big hit on Facebook!

By the way, these are relatively healthy, so this is guilt-free comfort food!

I only have this one crappy picture because SOMEONE didn't think these were a very good idea...

Turkey Meatloaf “Cupcakes” with Mashed Potato “Frosting”
Adapted from recipes here and here.
Makes 6 large “cupcakes”

For the meatloaf:

1 small onion, diced
2 tsp olive oil
2 pounds ground turkey breast
1 cup oatmeal
1/2 cup ketchup + 4 Tbsp
4 tsp Worcestershire sauce
2 large eggs
2 tsp dried marjoram
salt

For the potatoes:

6-7 medium potatoes, cubed (I used redskins and didn’t bother peeling them)
3/4 cup + 2 tbsp low fat buttermilk
2 tbsp butter
salt to taste
dash of fresh ground pepper
1/4 cup fresh chives

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Heat oil over medium-high heat, add onion and saute until translucent
  3. In a large bowl combine turkey, onion, oatmeal, egg, ketchup, salt and marjoram
  4. Grease an extra large muffin tin and divide the meat mixture into the 6 cups
  5. In a small bowl combine remaining 4 Tbsp ketchup and Worcestershire sauce and brush onto each loaf
  6. Bake for about 40 minutes; let rest for 5 minutes before serving
  7. While the meatloaf is baking, put potatoes in a large pot with salt and enough water to cover
  8. Bring to a boil, then cover and reduce heat
  9. Simmer for 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender
  10. Drain and return potatoes to the pot
  11. Add buttermilk, light butter and remaining ingredients and mash until smooth; season with salt and pepper to taste
  12. Get creative fashioning your potatoes on top of your meatloaf. Maybe even use some peas as “sprinkles”. Really go crazy with this.

Cheers!

One thought on “Recipe: Turkey Meatloaf “Cupcakes” with Mashed Potato “Frosting”

Leave a comment